Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

ARE MARSHMALLOWS GLUTEN FREE? READ ON

Marshmallow is made from sugar, water, and gelatin. It is used sometimes in baking or is melted and turned into a sugary topping for ice cream or hot chocolate.

There are several brands of marshmallows sold all over the world as there are many people who question if what they eat is gluten-free.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in grains that helps them maintain their shape and consistency. People seek gluten-free foods for different reasons either because they are gluten intolerant or because of the symptoms they may suffer after eating a gluten food such as: constipation, bloating, abdominal pains.

While some people reach out for gluten-free food because they are being careful not to put on so much weight.

Now, the big question is, are marshmallows gluten free? However, it is not enough to know if it is gluten-free, it should interest you to know how to tell if your marshmallows are gluten-free.

WHY DO PEOPLE LOOK FOR A GLUTEN-FREE DIET?

A gluten-free diet is an eating plan that does not include gluten-containing meals such as wheat or barley. A gluten-free diet is essential for managing a condition known as celiac disease and other medical conditions related to the consumption of gluten.

You may also find people without any of these medical conditions going for a gluten-free diet because there are claims that it improves health and weight loss.

CELIAC DISEASE

This condition is caused by an adverse reaction to gluten. It is an autoimmune condition where the small intestine responds to the presence of gluten in the system by gradually being unable to absorb nutrients.

This is because the immune system begins to mistake healthy cells for harmful ones and produces antibodies, which then leads to the inflammation of the small intestine.

ARE MARSHMALLOWS GLUTEN FREE

Depending on how it is made, marshmallows are mostly gluten-free. Some brands of marshmallows contain modified food starch which may be a gluten-containing ingredient.

Generally, marshmallows are made up of processed ingredients like corn syrup, sugar, gelatin, and artificial flavourings. They are not made with any main gluten-based grains such as wheat or barley, so most times, marshmallows are made to be gluten-free.

Although marshmallows in themselves are mostly produced gluten-free, some marshmallow products such as marshmallow cereals, are mostly not gluten-free.

HOW TO KNOW MARSHMALLOW BRANDS THAT ARE GLUTEN-FREE

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free
Are Marshmallows Gluten Free?

It is not enough to know your marshmallows are gluten-free, especially since not all marshmallows are gluten-free and also due to cross-contamination. Some marshmallows that are not produced to have gluten may end up being gluten food.

Cross-contamination happens during the packaging or manufacturing process. Some marshmallows are gluten-free but because the packaging or manufacturing equipment had not long been used to package gluten-containing food, traces of gluten may be found in your marshmallow.

If a product contains gluten, it would be indicated on the label, if not, “gluten-free” is usually written on the label. The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations permit foods to be labeled gluten-free if it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten.

To identify if the marshmallow you’ve bought is gluten-free, you must read the labels of the brands you buy.

If the labels show the indication of any of the ingredients; Wheat starch Glucose syrup Modified food starchyou should be on alert as these ingredients swiftly pass for gluten-containing ingredients.

SOME GLUTEN-FREE MARSHMALLOW BRANDS 

You may be a gluten-sensitive person and a marshmallow lover too. Here are some brands of marshmallows that have been tested and approved by the FDA to be gluten-free:

1. CAMPFIRE GIANT ROASTERS MARSHMALLOW: They are gluten-free and fat-free, perfect for those who are watching their weight, they are made in extra large size and are quite affordable. They are also made allergy-friendly, as it does not contain peanut or any type of nut, fish, milk, and eggs.

2. TRADER JOE’S MINI MARSHMALLOW: Trader Joe’s mini marshmallow is both gluten-free and gelatin-free. It is a very good vegan marshmallow alternative.

3. KRAFT JET-PUFFED MARSHMALLOW: Although their labels do not state if they are gluten-free, their list of ingredients, however, does not show the presence of gluten. Kraft Jet-puffed marshmallows contain the following ingredients: Corn syrup, sugar, water, gelatin, dextrose, tetrasodium pyrophosphate blue 1 Natural and artificial flavours.

Jet-puffed is probably safe to eat for someone who is gluten intolerant, but not the best for someone with celiac disease.

4. DANDIES VEGAN MARSHMALLOW: This is a specialty brand and a vegan alternative. They are labeled gluten-free and are vegan alternatives because they lack gelatin. Gelatin is an animal product derived from pork, beef, or fish. They are made free from artificial flavourings or colouring, corn syrup, gelatin, and gluten.

CONCLUSION

You may be gluten intolerant or watching your weight, but that shouldn’t stop you from eating your favourite marshmallow. All you have to do is to check the list of ingredients or nutritional profile that is made available on the labels of your marshmallow brand. 

Generally, most marshmallows are made gluten-free, but factors like cross-contamination can make some marshmallows have traces of gluten in them, although usually not so much to cause any of the symptoms that occur when you consume gluten and are gluten intolerant.

error: